LINDA’S DIARY EPISODE VII

Carl sat up and frowned. I felt like fire was burning beneath me from the seat…
My pants were soaked; whether I pea in it or perhaps it was sweat, I wasn’t sure, neither was I interested…

I sat up like someone facing a disciplinary panel, staring at both of them.
I felt really uncomfortable. “If only the ground would open and swallow me”, I thought…

“If only I had seen this coming…” I thought in retrospect…

“Mum, what’s wrong with getting married to a single mother?”

“Shut up! what do u know? ” she retorted…

She stood up and looked at me, as if to give me the beating of my life…
My eyes unluckily met with hers; her eyes were red like someone who was high on vodka…
She gazed at me tenaciously; I could almost hear her heartbeat…
As if I had rehearsed it, I immediately looked away from her in split seconds…

Angrily, she walked out on us into a room…
“What an unfortunate person I am,” I thought; although her departure gave me some relief…

Tears rolled down my face uncontrollably. I wished I never came into this world…

I stood up immediately and made for the door. “I had overstayed my welcome,” I thought. Oh, was there any welcome in the first place?

“Linda, please don’t leave,” Carl stood up and held my arm, looking sober and confused.

I looked at him with a smirk on my face, “If your mother doesn’t approve of this, It can’t work,” I said and walked away.

Carl followed me apologizing. “He shouldn’t. It’s all my fault,” I thought as I approached the gate.

“Oh, my baby!” I had stepped out from the gate when I remembered I left him behind…
Poor little creature. I went back inside to pick him…
“I hope Carl’s mother wouldn’t be out of that room yet,” I said to myself…

I got back home feeling like a mess. “What have I gotten myself into?” I asked my self. At that moment I felt like disposing my baby, I saw him as a burden. But I didn’t have the heart to do so…

It wasn’t his fault. It was my mistake.
I wept like a baby all through the night…

Carl kept calling my phone, but I didn’t pick. He visited but I avoided him.
He sent a text threatening to kill himself if I keep avoiding him but that didn’t move me remembering my encounter with his daredevil mother…

One morning, I was in the kitchen preparing breakfast when my phone rang. I picked it up to look at the caller. It was a strange number. “Who could this be?” I pondered. I answered the call but didn’t say a word, I wanted to hear the caller’s voice first.

” Linda?” The voice sounded unsure.
“Yeess,” I stuttered…

“This is Carl’s mother.” She sounded worried…
“Carl’s mum?” I thought. I didn’t know whether to hang up or deliberately let the phone drop to the floor…
Questions began to run through my head…

How did she get my number?
Why does she sound worried?
What happened?
Is carl okay?…..

To be continued…

One Comment Add yours

  1. layo says:

    this is lovely

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

