LINDA’S DIARY EPISODE IX

“John must be joking,” Carl said, after I told him about the call…

“I would fight this to any level,” he continued…

“Why is all this happening now?” I said with a worried look…

“Don’t worry dear, no one will take our son from us, I’ll fight this with my last breath.” He said and pulled me close…

Carl visited John to find out why he was requesting for the custody of his son. When he got there he found John drinking like an addict, he looked like he was no longer in control of his life. His sitting room was smelling like a beer parlour…

“John, what is the meaning of all this? Where is Arewa?” Carl asked as he collected the bottle of alcohol from him. John tried to struggle with him but carl overpowered him, he had drank to stupor, he no longer had stamina…

“Why are you here? Did you bring my son?” He managed to talk…

“John, this is not you”

“AREWA! AREWA!” Carl shouted as started walked towards the room…

“Don’t bother looking for her, I sent her packing.”

“You did what? What happened!” Carl exclaimed with surprise in his eyes…

” She lied to me.” He broke into tears and tried to reach for the bottle but Carl stopped him…

” Lied to you? How?” John asked as he held him to pet him…

“Yes! Few weeks back, our son feel ill and was rushed to the hospital, the doctor said he needed blood. As the father, I volunteered to donate the blood. The doctor took the sample of my blood for a laboratory test. He came back and,” he paused and broke into tears…

“John calm down, its going to be okay.”

“He said junior is not my son,” he continued and wept bitterly…

“WHAT!” Carl shouted

“How can that be, Did you ask Arewa?”

“Yes, I asked Arewa and she confirmed it.”

“My God! How can a person be this wicked?

So she has been deceiving you all this while.” Carl said with shock in his eyes…

“Carl, the most painful thing is that Junior is dead. Arewa couldn’t get through to his biological father. I’m ruined! What have I done to Arewa to deserve all this!”

Carl folded his hands and sat back. He was speechless…

“Its quite painful, but that is not the end of the world. Please pull yourself together and continue your life.” He consoled John.

Carl took proper care of John, he cooked for him and made sure he had his bath. Before he left, he pleaded with John to allow us be…

Carl got back home overcome with sorrow…

It was difficult for him to tell me what had happened…

“Are you telling me Junior is dead?” I asked Carl out of disbelief…

“Yes.”

“What a pity. So did you tell him to back off our son?” I asked as if I didn’t care about John’s predicament…

I was more concerned about my son…

“I spoke to him, let’s hope he stops pestering us.” Carl said…

But John didn’t change his mind, he filed a case against carl and I. We were to appear in court the following month.

Immediately I found out I broke into tears.

“Why is John doing this to us?” I asked…

Carl hugged me to pet me.

“Don’t worry we would sort everything out. I know a very good lawyer, in fact he practiced oversees. He arrived a few days ago. We would visit him on monday.”

On Monday, Carl and I set out to hook up with the lawyer in a restaurant. We got to the place and I met the greatest shock of my life….

It was my brother, Alexander Johnson!!!

To be continued…

Leave a Reply

