THE REJECTED STONE EPISODE 6

“Maa’mi ti ku oooo!!!” I kept shouting, neighbours rushed in to know the cause of the noise.
“Ewa! Ewa! Kilo sele” a man said as he entered the room where maa’mi and I was. People began to rush in too “Haa! Iya ewa ti ku ooooo” I heard the voice from behind

I cried and rolled on the floor, “it is finished” I shouted. I cried with all my strength. “Why? God why? Take me with her”

“God forbid, Ewa, keep shut, nobody prayed for this to happen, but it has happened, so don’t pray to die . Haba!” Iya Jola said. Iya Jola lives about two houses away. She is a widow with two children. Ever since she lost her husband, she hardly relate with people.

“Nooooooo, this life is wicked” I continued not minding the word Iya Jola said. “Ewa! O ti to” iya jola said.

That night, I cried till I could no more, some people left after a while but few waited till the next morning.

Very early in the morning, Word got to my father’s family and they arrived the following day.

“Little girl, I know the lord will not forget you. Your mother is gone for good” Olori -Ebi said

“Mtcheeew, why won’t she die, after all she killed boda mi ” Anty Folakemi said

” Will you keep your big mouth shut, woman. We are not here for this” Olori -Ebi said with a frown.

“We shall bury the corpse tomorrow, so let’s decide who will be in care of Ewatomi.” He continued
Immediately he said that, they all turned their faces away like it was none of their business. “Ehnnn, you are all acting as if she is not your family”

“Olori-Ebi, you can also take her in” Anty Tade said

” O g`o, infact you are very stupid Tade, anyways you all know my wife and children are not in this country and I travel very often, so it will be difficult for her to cope”

“Every body has one responsibility or the other too” uncle bolarinwa said as he looked away with a frown

” Ko buru, Fola, your family is very comfortable, you shall be in care of Ewa, everyone would contribute 20,000 naira per month for her upkeepment, so that she won’t be a burden”

“Ehn, olori -ebi iro oooooo, lailai” Anty Fola shouted

” I have spoken and I believe my words are final, case closed”

They finished the meeting and started the burial preparation, Maa’mi was buried the next day, she was placed beside baa’mi. None of my father’s family wept.

The following day, I packed my luggages and followed anty fola to her house, when we got there, I stepped from the black car, gaping at the large mansion. The cream coating of the paint shined as the sun beat down on it, causing me to have to squint. Uniquely twisted fencing kept the house enclosed, neatly trimmed hedges surrounded the house. The roof was peaked, slanting down at an angle.

The windows had royal purple curtains hanging on the other side of them, drawn so that the sunlight could stream through.

As we walked towards the house, I noticed a marble fountain sitting towards the right side of the lawn. An angel holding a flower was perched on top, looking up towards the sky. Water spurted from its other hand, which lay gently out in front of it, as if waiting for someone to take it in return.

The water fell gently towards the crystal blue pool beneath
it, causing ripples to form and wave out until they were no
more.

We got to the door, Anty Fola stabbed the doorbell, which glowed with a yellow light surrounding the white button. Hearing a faint ‘ding dong’ she huffed, waiting for someone to come to the door. It was, moments later, opened by a girl wearing a pink gown, her hair pulled back into a tight bun. “Mummy, is back” she shouted.

“Where is your brother?”

Paul is up in his room, playing with his friend,” she said, as she closed the door,

I stole a glance around the place. The black and white linoleum floor of the entrance glowed,Stairs lay across the room, climbing toward the ceiling. A doorway was on either side of the room, one admitting you into the kitchen, the other into the living room. The walls were a dark blue with silver brush swipes crossing over it, creating a shimmer effect.

“So Anty Fola is this rich” I thought to myself

Pounding came from upstairs and two guys ran down
the silver, winding staircase, each of them holding a phone. “Welcome mum, who is this?” asked one of the guys.

“Ehmm, I am…”

Anty Fola cut me off, “Her name is Tomi, she is your cousin”

“Cousin?” The little girl said with a surprise look

“Yes. Christie, take Tomi to the room beside the kitchen”

“Ok mum” she said as she led me to the room.

I thought staying with Anty Fola would end my sufferings, but it was just the beginning.

To be continued

Leave a Reply

