THE REJECTED STONE EPISODE 16

I turned and found Dr. Carl standing at the door, he was looking handsome.

“Can I come in?” he asked, staring at me like I summoned him over

“Hmmmm…ye..yess, you can” 

“Tomi” he called my name as he walked toward me “If a prophet had said you would refuse to save a person’s life, I would have called him a fake. Tomi, what happened? What did that family do to you that made you decide not to help them at first?”

“Nothing, at least I changed my mind and the operation was successful” I replied and turned away


.

“Tomi” he called my name and placed his hands on my shoulders , I felt my knees trembling , What was that? Why did his touch make me feel that way? OMG!!! Am I in love with Dr. Carl?

“You can trust me” his voice interrupted my thoughts.

“Uhmmm” I turned facing him, which made him move closer and he held my two hands. It felt good “Sure, I trust u but….” I paused, I can’t let him know my past, if I do, he would hate me, I can’t, never!

Then I heard a knock on my door, Carl immediately released my hands, I rubbed my chin and walked towards my table‎.

“Please come in” I said.

Aunty Fola and Paul came in.‎

“Oh! Not again” I said aloud.
 
“Tomi” Aunty Fola said ” I…I came here to thank you for saving my husband, and to also apologise to you for everything I have done to you”.

“What?!” I could not hide my shock, I looked at her with a confusing look. 

“Yes Tomi” Paul said ” I’m sorry for everything I did, I was dumb, I thought it was having fun, but little did I know I was destroying a life. Tomi, sorry I made you commit incest ”

” INCEST?” Carl replied with a look of disgust on his face.

OMG! I totally forgot Carl was standing there.

“Tomi, what is happening here? Incest? You mean he is your family? And both of you…..?… My GOD!”

“Carl, it’s not what you think” I replied with a sober look.

Carl shook his head and walked out of my office.

Can’t this trouble just end at once, you people just want to ruin me totally. You came to solve a problem and you end up creating an entirely new one!

“Tomi, we are really sorry, please forgive us” Aunty Fola said as she knelt down and Paul prostrated beside her. 

Mama Ewa always told me never to allow people older than me to kneel down, it shortens a person’s life. I don’t know if it is true or just a superstition but it has really helped me.

“No, no, no, don’t do this, if I haven’t forgiven you I wouldn’t have saved Uncle Sola’s life. Please get up”.

“Thank you Tomi” Aunty Fola and Paul chorused.

They got up and walked towards the door

“Uhmmm, Tomi, please can you help us with some money to get home?” 

“Huh?! What happened?” 

“Since when Sola lost his job, things have been really hard, we’ve been feeding from hand to mouth”

“Oh, I’m so sorry about that” I reached for my purse and counted seven thousand naira (N7,000) and handed it to Aunty Fola.

“Haa, Tomi, this is too much, Haa! God bless you my daughter. Waa da gba. Thank you”

“Aseee” I said smiling

They walked towards the door, looking back every second with a look filled with appreciation. They opened the door and left.

Now how do I face Carl?

To be continued‎

4 Comments Add yours

  1. ade says:

    Serves fola and paul right, Infact, they should be as poor as a church rat.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. George says:

    How can she forget carl was standing there, he won’t believe in her again

    Liked by 1 person

  3. wunmi says:

    Wemmy, what’s up? How are you? Nice job!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mzwemmy says:

    Thanks wunmi

    Like

Leave a Reply

